Tiger Woods Lost The Masters By An Inch

image1They say that golf is a game of inches and this was never more obvious to me than it was in this year’s Masters Golf Tournament. This year, The Master’s was marred by controversy; but that is not what I want to talk about. I want to point out something that I haven’t heard from ANY commentators up to this point. And that is, that Tiger Woods missed winning The Masters Golf Tournament by AN INCH. If you think about it, Tiger Woods was cruising along and playing very well up to the 15th hole on Friday when the tournament turned topsy turvy. Tiger hit nearly a perfect shot but his ball unfortunately hit the flag and spun back into the water. By all accounts, if he missed the flag to either side, he would have been pin high for a birdie. He went from a birdie to a bogie in a blink of an eye; that is a 2 shot swing.

Now if he missed that flag, none of the controversy about his next perfect shot would have ensued. The merits of that controversy can obviously be argued but that is not what this blog is about. It is about the fact that if he didn’t have the misfortune of hitting the flag, he wouldn’t have lost 2 strokes going from birdie to bogie, AND he wouldn’t have lost 2 strokes to a controversial ruling that should never have been brought up in the first place, AND those 4 strokes would most likely have won him the Green Jacket again. He essentially lost the Masters by one inch.

Which brings up another question. Despite not winning the tournament… Is Tiger back?

Share this article

Leave a Comment

*

Email